Sandrine Llouquet at the Quynh Galerie this February

 

 

 

L’organisateur

La Galerie Quynh présente une nouvelle exposition de Sandrine Llouquet intitulée Chapter 4: Days and Nights of Revolving Joy. C’est la cinquième exposition personnelle de l’artiste à la galerie. Empruntant une ligne d’écriture de The Four Zoas, un livre inachevé de poèmes mythiques de William Blake, le titre reflète un parcours continu et élaboré d’apprentissage et de découverte pour l’artiste. La première partie du projet en cours a été présentée à la galerie en 2013 en tant que Chapitre 1: Where I attempt to drown the dragon

Chapitre 2: Midi a été réalisé à L’Espace d’Hanoi, au Vietnam en 2015; et le Chapitre 3:les 101 Grandes Déessesa été exposé au Point Commun, à Annecy, en France en 2017. Le chapitre 4 présente des œuvres nouvellement produites incorporant de la céramique, des installations et des vidéos qui approfondissent les notions d’identité et de division, thèmes récurrents dans les travaux de Llouquet souvent consacrés à la lecture et à la recherche de penseurs modernes tels que Foucault, Nietzsche, Deleuze et Jung. Dans Carl Jung, Llouquet s’intéresse particulièrement à sa théorie des archétypes. L’explication de Jung sur les archétypes s’intéresse aux histoires et aux structures inconscientes transmises de génération en génération, malgré les circonstances particulières de la nature, des cultures et de la géographie d’un individu. Dans The Four Zoas, Blake avait l’intention de donner sa propre vision de l’histoire psychique de l’homme. Sa poésie cosmique offre un écho intriguant à la définition de Jung de l’archétype, bien que Blake soit mort près de 50 ans avant la naissance de Jung. La poésie de Blake est un aperçu des forces inconscientes luttant les unes contre les autres dans la psyché humaine. Cette impression de profondeur existentielle fragmentée est intimement liée à la céramique brisée de Llouquet. Inspirée par un récent voyage à Lisbonne où elle a rencontré les carreaux de tuile peints à l’étain émaillés connus sous le nom d’Azulejos, Llouquet s’est rendue à Hue, capitale impériale du Vietnam, pour en apprendre davantage sur la mosaïque faite à partir de poterie, une technique traditionnelle utilisant des poteries brisées qui prospéraient à Hue au 17ème siècle.

 

 

 

 

Llouquet prend pour ses nouvelles mosaïques des pièces de porcelaine, certaines trouvées et d’autres peintes à la main, et les brise en morceaux avant de reconfigurer les éclats en formes géométriques. Elle accumule des images provenant de sources disparates et les recompose en nouveaux modèles et récits. Ce qui est divisé et fragmenté peut maintenant être revu dans son ensemble. Chapter 4: Days and Nights of Revolving Joy se déploie comme une progression depuis le rez-de-chaussée et la mezzanine et offrent une mosaïque d’images intrigantes de céramique brisée et de fantastiques carreaux de céramique peints et va vers de plus mystérieux dessins au fusain sur toile au deuxième étage. L’arrière-plan du deuxième étage comprend une nouvelle œuvre vidéo et d’une cérémonie ésotérique. Les téléspectateurs doivent entrer dans une pièce avec seulement des tapis de bambou par terre pour visionner la vidéo, qui n’est accessible qu’après avoir scanné le code QR sur leur smartphone. Fidèle à l’idée du syncrétisme de Llouquet, la vidéo est une célébration de diverses sources allant du culte d’Isis à la messe catholique aux célébrations profanes. La cérémonie mystérieuse comporte divers rituels, dont la danse, une lecture en espéranto de Night the First (le premier chapitre des Quatre zoas) et un rite d’initiation. Plutôt que d’essayer de comprendre le contenu de manière rationnelle, l’artiste propose de l’expérimenter et d’essayer de le saisir à un autre niveau de conscience.

 

 

Chapter 4: Days and Nights of Revolving Joy – Sandrine Llouquet

Galerie Quynh

118 Nguyen Van Thu, Dakao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City

Opening: Jeudi 21 Février de 6:30 – 8:30pm. Exposition jusqu’au 6 Avril 2019.

 

 

 

 

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

Newsletter

About Us

Bliss Saigon is an online magazine dedicated to the Art of living in Ho Chi Minh City and Asia. The magazine present a unique editorial approach based on experts and influencers contributions, written with optimism, humor and accessibility, offering an interactive and ludic reading on lifestyle topics with sharp selections for unique insights.

Sandrine Llouquet at the Quynh Galerie this February

 

 

 

From the organizer

 

Galerie Quynh is pleased to present an exhibition of new work by Sandrine Llouquet titled Chapter 4: Days and Nights of Revolving Joy. This will be the artist’s fifth solo show at the gallery. Borrowing a line from The Four Zoas, an unfinished book of mythic poems by William Blake, the title reflects a continuous and elaborate journey of learning and discovery for the artist. The first part of the ongoing project was presented at the gallery in 2013 as Chapter 1: Where I attempt to drown the dragon. Chapitre 2: Midi was realized at L’Espace, Hanoi, Vietnam in 2015; and Chapitre 3: les 101 Grandes Déesses was shown at Le Point Commun, Annecy, France in 2017. Chapter 4 unveils newly produced works incorporating ceramics, installation, and video that delve into ideas of identity and division, recurrent themes in Llouquet’s practice. Llouquet’s practice is often invested in the reading and research of modern thinkers like Foucault, Nietzsche, Deleuze and Jung. In Carl Jung, Llouquet is particularly interested in his theory of archetypes. Jung’s explanation of archetypes looks at the unconscious stories and structures that are passed down through generations despite an individual’s particular circumstances of nature, nurture, and geography. In The Four Zoas Blake intended to give his own vision of the psychic history of Man. His cosmic poetry offers an intriguing echo to Jung’s definition of the archetype despite Blake having died almost 50 years before Jung’s birth. Blake’s poetry is an outline of the unconscious forces struggling against one another in the human psyche.

This sense of fragmented, existential profundity is interwoven with Llouquet’s broken ceramics. Inspired by a recent trip to Lisbon where she encountered the painted, tin-glazed tile works known as azulejos, Llouquet traveled to Hue, the imperial capital of Vietnam, to learn more about pottery mosaic, a traditional technique using broken pottery that flourished in Hue in the 17th century.

 

 

 

 

For her new mosaics, Llouquet takes porcelain pieces, some found and others hand-painted, and shatters them into pieces before re configuring the shards into geometric forms. She accumulates images from disparate sources and recomposes them into new patterns and narratives. What is divided and fragmented can now be re-seen as a whole.

Chapter 4: Days and Nights of Revolving Joy unfolds as a progression from the ground floor and mezzanine which offer a mosaic of intriguing images of broken ceramics and fantastical, painted ceramic tiles towards more mysterious charcoal drawings on canvas on the second floor. The second floor back room features Days and Nights of Revolving Joy, a new video work of an esoteric ceremony. Viewers must enter a stark room with only bamboo mats on the floor to view the video, which is accessible only after scanning the QR code on their smartphones. Faithful to Llouquet’s idea of syncretism, the video is a celebration of various sources from the cult of Isis to Catholic mass to profane celebrations. The mysterious ceremony involves various rituals including dancing, a reading in Esperanto of Night the First (the first chapter of The Four Zoas), and an initiation rite. Rather than attempting to understand the content with our rational mind, the artist proposes to experience it and grasp it on another level of consciousness.

 

 

Chapter 4: Days and Nights of Revolving Joy – Sandrine Llouquet

Galerie Quynh

118 Nguyen Van Thu, Dakao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City

Opening Reception: Thursday, 21 February from 6:30 – 8:30pm. Exhibition untill April 6 2019.

 

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

Newsletter

About Us

Bliss Saigon is an online magazine dedicated to the Art of living in Ho Chi Minh City and Asia. The magazine present a unique editorial approach based on experts and influencers contributions, written with optimism, humor and accessibility, offering an interactive and ludic reading on lifestyle topics with sharp selections for unique insights.