EXTRAVAGANCES AU VIETNAM

 

Photos par Leland Bobbé

 

Provoquer l’étonnement et tenter de changer les normes de la vie sociale est un phénomène en évolution au Vietnam, pays en expansion où de plus en plus de nouveautés ont émergé ces dix dernières années. Dans les nuits chaudes de Saïgon et d’Hanoi, nous trouvons les Drag Queens. Ces « créatures » inhabituelles avec un look atypique et un physique très soigné. Ils sont connus de tous, mais peu sont ceux qui les connaissent vraiment. Ces messieurs sont vêtus de magnifiques costumes et ont un maquillage coloré. Leur apparence est sophistiquée et une fois transformés, ces artistes entrent dans la peau de leur personnage. Car, oui, les Drag Queens sont avant tout des acteurs à la recherche de spectacle pour illuminer les yeux des spectateurs. Ils adoptent un comportement de diva, un peu dédaigneux, ils se promènent parmi vos invités et jouent avec eux. Humour épicé, costumes spectaculaires, les Drag Queens sont là. Mais être une Drag Queen est un paradoxe. C’est montrer une complexité qui masque sa tristesse et ses blessures avec petitesse. Oui, ils sont principalement gay, mais qui se soucie de sexualité quand le talent est là ? Être une Drag Queen n’est pas seulement une apparence. En plus de savoir s’habiller et se maquiller, une reine doit aussi être capable de chanter, de danser, d’interagir avec le public, de le faire rire sans le vexer … Un autre défi et non le moindre, est de gérer le regard des gens. C’est un « coming out » à deux niveaux. Souvent, ils doivent d’abord faire un « coming out » en tant que gay et ensuite le faire en tant que Drag Queen, et le second est souvent beaucoup plus difficile.

 

 

L’homosexualité a longtemps été considérée comme un fléau social au Vietnam, mais la tolérance commence à émerger dans un pays où la famille et la tradition sont encore très importantes. Être accepté comme homosexuel n’est pas le seul défi auquel font face les Drag Queens, gagner un revenu en est un autre. Il y a des endroits, des bars, des clubs qui emploient ces acteurs, mais ils sont encore trop peu nombreux, bien qu’il semble que la demande pour ces Reines de la nuit augmente. Au Vietnam, certains de ces artistes sont actifs depuis longtemps mais ne sont pas encore reconnus. Les spectacles sont un moyen d’aider les gens à découvrir, comprendre et apprendre à propos de l’art des Drag Queen. Le Vietnam est considéré comme relativement progressiste sur la question de l’homosexualité. L’État a décriminalisé les célébrations de mariage homosexuel en 2015, le mariage homosexuel est accepté, et aujourd’hui, le gouvernement a rédigé une loi transgenre pour permettre des changements juridiques. Espérons que ces évolutions  aideront ces acteurs passionnés à aller plus loin.

 

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

Newsletter

About Us

Bliss Saigon is an online magazine dedicated to the Art of living in Ho Chi Minh City and Asia. The magazine present a unique editorial approach based on experts and influencers contributions, written with optimism, humor and accessibility, offering an interactive and ludic reading on lifestyle topics with sharp selections for unique insights.

EXTRAVAGANCES IN VIETNAM

 

Pic Leland Bobbé

Provoke astonishment and try to change the norms of the social life is a phenomenon increasing in Vietnam, a country in expansion where more and more novelties have emerged these last ten years. In the hot nights of Saigon and Hanoi, we find the Drag Queens. These unusual ‘creatures’ with an atypical look and a very neat physical. They are known from all but few are the ones who really know them. These gentlemen are dressed in gorgeous costumes and have a colorful make-up. Their appearance is sophisticated and once they are transformed, these artists enter into the skin of their character. Because, yes, the Drag Queens are above all actors in search of shows to illuminate the spectators’ eyes. They adopt a diva behavior, a bit disdainful, they wander among your guests and play with them. Spicy humor, spectacular costumes, the Drag Queens are there. But being a Drag Queen is a paradox. It’s showing a complexity that masks his sadness and his wounds with pettiness. Yes, they are mainly gay, but who cares about sexuality when talent is there? Being a Drag Queen is not just about an appearance. In addition, to know how to dress and put on makeup, a Queen must also be able to sing, dance, interact with the audience, to make it laugh without upsetting it … Another challenge and not the least is, as a Queen, to manage the people’s look. It’s a two-level coming out. Often, they have to do first a coming out as gay and then a coming out as a Drag Queen, and the second is often much more difficult.

 

 

Homosexuality has long been considered a “social scourge” in Vietnam, but tolerance is beginning to emerge in a country where family and tradition are still very important. Being accepted as homosexual is not the only challenge that the Drag Queens are facing, earning income is another. There are places, bars, clubs that employ these actors, but they are still too few, although it seems that the demand for these Queens of the night is increasing. In Vietnam, some of these artists have been active for a long time but are not yet recognized. Shows are a way to help people to discover, understand, and learn about the Drag Queen’ art. Vietnam is considered relatively progressive on the issue of homosexuality. The state has decriminalized homosexual marriage celebrations in 2015, the gay wedding is accepted, and today, the government has been drafting a transgender law to allow legal changes. Let’s hope these changes will help these passionate actors to take a step further.

 

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

Newsletter

About Us

Bliss Saigon is an online magazine dedicated to the Art of living in Ho Chi Minh City and Asia. The magazine present a unique editorial approach based on experts and influencers contributions, written with optimism, humor and accessibility, offering an interactive and ludic reading on lifestyle topics with sharp selections for unique insights.